Skip to content

Independent public information platform. Not a Government of Kenya website.

How PDU works
PDU

What was promised

Construct 100,000 km of fiber-optic connectivity; establish 25,000 JiConnect Wi-Fi hotspots; establish 1,450 digital hubs countrywide

Recorded verbatim from the source. Any editing of this text is treated as a factual change and is written to the audit log.

Delivery reported by governmentAdirect official data

What PDU has located

The implementing government reports that it has been delivered. PDU has not confirmed this against a second independent source.

The implementing government reports delivery against this promise. PDU has not independently verified it, and no second official source has been matched to it yet.

Outputs reported by government

What the implementer says it produced. These are official claims, recorded as published and not independently confirmed.

  • 316+ digital hubs established countrywide

  • National Government CDF Act amended — constituencies can now allocate 3% of annual budget to digital hub construction

  • Existing government buildings being repurposed as digital hubs

  • Fiber optic connectivity expanded from 8,900 km to 30,000+ km — 4,690 km added, a massive expansion

  • 1,563 new public Wi-Fi hotspots established countrywide (incl. Kenyatta, Githurai, Wakulima markets; Starlink deployments for KWS and WELCOME Community Wi-Fi)

  • Implementation model shifted to Kenya Power lines, reducing rollout from 5 years to 2 years

Outcomes reported by government

Effects the publisher states followed. PDU records these next to the outputs but does not treat that closeness as proof that the outputs caused them. Causation is only asserted where a source establishes it.

  • Expanded internet access enhancing digital inclusion nationwide

    Presented by the publisher as a related outcome. No causal link is asserted.

  • Accelerated economic growth through e-commerce and remote work

    Presented by the publisher as a related outcome. No causal link is asserted.

  • Strengthened e-government platforms and digital public services

    Presented by the publisher as a related outcome. No causal link is asserted.

  • Bridging the urban-rural connectivity gap

    Presented by the publisher as a related outcome. No causal link is asserted.

  • Boosted private sector ICT investment and competitiveness

    Presented by the publisher as a related outcome. No causal link is asserted.

Why these results are attached here

Published on the same row of the Government Delivery Unit pillars page, under "Achieve Universal Broadband Availability across Kenya". The link is the publisher's own, not an inference by PDU.

Projects matched to this promise

No individual project record has been matched to this promise yet. Project-level data enters PDU through a recorded import, as set out in the method statement. Absence of a match here is a statement about what PDU has indexed, not about what exists.

Figures attached to this promise

Official claimA
Figure:
53% growth in fiber optic network
As stated for:
Date not stated
Source:
Government Delivery Unit delivery portal
Reporting institution:
Government Delivery Unit
Document:
Delivery pillars: promises, achievements and impact
Page:
https://delivery.go.ke/pillars
Source published:
Not stated by publisher
PDU retrieved:
29 September 2026 at 15:12 GMT+3

“53% growth in fiber optic network”

Original wording, as published.

Note: Headline figure the publisher displays against this promise. Stored as the publisher's wording, not converted or recalculated.